Saturday, December 3, 2022
Add place
HomeSportsPak vs SL: PCB announces Test squad for Sri Lanka series

Pak vs SL: PCB announces Test squad for Sri Lanka series

LAHORE Lahore: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Wednesday unveiled an 18-member team for the forthcoming test series with Sri Lanka, recalling leg-spinner Yasir Shah after a lengthy period of.

Yasir was a key player in Pakistan’s victory of 2-1 against Sri Lanka on their last tour of Sri Lanka in 2015. He took 24 wickets in 19.33. Yasir is back in the squad after gaining the full strength. Yasir took part in his 46th and his final Test to date with his country of the West Indies in August 2021.

Salman Ali Agha, who has recorded 4,224 runs and took 88 wickets in first-class cricket, is another member of the team.

Mohammad Nawaz is the third player who has been recalled. He was selected in the team for the Australia Tests but was later withdrawn due to an injury.

The squad selected for the most recent ICC World Test Championship fixtures comprised of 3 openers and 4 middle order batters, 3 all-rounders two wicketkeepersand two spinners as well as four speed bowlers.

The chief selector Muhammad Wasim said they have chosen the team in light of the current conditions present in Sri Lanka and have equipped the team with the most effective available resources.

“Our spin department has been boosted by an appearance by Yasir Shah who showed himself to be a match-winner for Sri Lanka on our last tour. Sajid Khan has paved the right choice for the former captain to make his way. In addition, the spin team has two spin all-rounders: Mohammad Nawaz and Salman Ali Agha and left-arm conventional Nauman Ali.”

The Salman Ali Agha team has been defending his inclusion as a member of the team, Wasim said the player has been consistent with the bat over the last three years and can be a useful off-spin player.

Series schedule

The national team will gather in Islamabad on June 25, to finish its preparations to play the test series in the Pindi Cricket Stadium with a seven-day camp lasting between June 26 and 2 July, before leaving for Sri Lanka on 6 July.

Pakistan will be playing the warm-up game for three days from 11-13 July. In the first test, it will be played in Galle beginning on the 16th of July the second Test is scheduled to be played at Colombo starting on July 24.

Pakistan’s Test position

For Pakistan that are currently in the fifth position the series will be their final outing for their current ICC World Test Championship cycle that runs from July 2021 through June 2023. They are eager to increase their standing on the rankings by achieving the same results like last time, with the series victory.

Pakistan are playing three games during the current calendar and having won three Tests , and two draws are fifth in the table of nine teams.

Babar Azam’s side levelled the series with two tests in the West Indies, defeated Bangladesh by 2-0 in their second home tour before Australia defeated Bangladesh with the score 1-0 during Pat Cummins’ side’s historic tour of the nation.

In the coming 2022-23 season, Pakistan are set to host England and New Zealand for three and two Tests in an impressive domestic international series.


Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain, wicketkeeper), Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Saud Shakeel and Shakeel Afridi, Shan Masood and Yasir Shah

Related Articles:



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments